Freedom of speech?

As I write this, I’m going to try and be as calm as possible. I’m angry right now. Angry at both my self and at others. Anger at myself for calling people names, but then again angry at people because they don’t understand. Of course, without the back story, all of this is gibberish.

We all know of Phil Robertson. I’m assuming you do. Well, in a GQ interview, he said “It seems like, to me, a vagina—as a man—would be more desirable than a man’s anus. That’s just me. I’m just thinking: There’s more there! She’s got more to offer. I mean, come on, dudes! You know what I’m saying? But hey, sin: It’s not logical, my man. It’s just not logical.”

There we have it folks. The mere thought that some guys are attracted to other guys is “not logical.” As the internet meme goes, “Homosexuality is found in over 1500 species, and homophobia is found in one.” Clearly, clearly not logical.

As a result for his homophobic remark, he has been suspended from A&E’s Duck Dynasty indefinitely. Here’s where all hell breaks loose. “He has freedom of speech.”

Yes, he does. Just because we have freedom of speech, it does not mean that we aren’t liable for our choice of words. He has insulted millions of gay men just because he doesn’t find the man’s anus “desirable.” What they do in the privacy in their homes during their sexy times has nothing to do with you, sir. You don’t get to say what type of sex is logical/illogical. He doesn’t get to spew out that hate speech on a live interview that world is going to read without repercussions.

If he had said it to a family member, without the world knowing, that would not bother me. Once the world knows of what words he used when answering a controversial question, regardless of his answer, people are going to be angry. He’s chosen hateful and homophobic words, something his company doesn’t agree with, so they had every right to fire him.

He wasn’t fired for his beliefs. He was fired because he said them live and because A&E doesn’t agree with his beliefs.

He used his freedom of speech and because of his words, he is facing the consequences, justified consequences, at that.

